Student Learning Assessment

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Assessment is a process of (1) identifying what students should learn, (2) helping them learn that knowledge or skill, (3) determining how well they have learned, and (4) modifying the educational experience to help students learn better, if necessary. 
SCHEV's Policy on Student Learning Assessment and Quality in Undergraduate Education requires that all public institutions assess at least six core competencies among their undergraduates. Four of those competencies are determined by SCHEV. The others are selected by each institution based on their mission and educational priorities. The four competencies required by SCHEV are:

  • Civic engagement
  • Critical thinking
  • Quantitative reasoning
  • Written communication

Some of the other competencies selected by institutions include oral communication, information literacy, professional readiness, and scientific literacy.

Institutions are responsible for developing their own strategies for teaching and assessing the core competencies. Results are publicly available on each institution's website.

SCHEV is in the process of building a library of short videos showcasing how different institutions teach and assess these core competencies. Each "spotlight" video explains how one of the competencies is taught and assessed at a particular institution. 

Civic Engagement

Critical Thinking

Quantitative Reasoning

  • Not yet available

Written Communication

  • Not yet available