• council


Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Council consists of 13 members appointed for four-year terms (except appointments that fill vacancies occurring shall be appointed for the unexpired term). There are 12 members appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the General Assembly and one ex officio member. At least one appointee shall have served as a president or chief executive of a public institution of higher education in the Commonwealth. At least one member shall be a sitting Virginia school superintendent, either at the state or local level. The President of the Virginia Economic Development Partnership shall serve ex officio with voting privileges. All terms begin July 1.

The Council meets six times per year and all meetings are open to the public. Three meetings are held in Richmond at the SCHEV offices; two are held on a public college campus on a rotating basis; and one is held at a private institution. In addition, the Council typically holds a joint meeting once a year with the public college presidents.

The Council operates under a committee structure, determined by the Council Chair. The current standing committees are the Executive Committee, the Academic Affairs Committee, and the Resource and Planning Committee. The chair may appoint such other standing committees or ad hoc committees from time to time as deemed appropriate or to ensure the efficient disposition of the Council’s work. The chair shall specify the purpose and duration of any ad hoc committee. Additional meetings may be scheduled at the call of the chair.

  • The Academic Affairs Committee is charged with overseeing the work of SCHEV staff on all matters of academic concern. Its activities include the statutorily authorized approval of new academic programs and instructional sites at public higher education institutions; the certification of new and out-of-state postsecondary institutions; and the implementation of state policies on a broad range of topics such as assessment, transfer, reinstatement of students called for military duty, and strategic planning. The Committee also receives updates and reports on special initiatives and grant-funded programs (GEAR UP and NCLB) administered by SCHEV staff. Academic Affairs committee members for FY 2022 include Alvin Schexnider, Chair; Jeffrey Smith, Vice Chair; Mirza Baig; Jason El Koubi; William Harvey; and Cheryl Oldham.
  • The Resources and Planning Committee is charged with assisting the Council in developing its annual budget recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly; reporting on enrollment and degrees; and overseeing development and implementation of the Council’s strategic planning efforts. Referred to as Pathways to Opportunity, The Virginia Plan for Higher Education, it will continue to lead the Council’s work. Resources and Planning committee members for FY 2022 include Victoria Harker, Chair; John Broderick, Vice Chair; Katie Webb; Thaddeus Holloman; Jennie O'Holleran; and Walter Curt.

To contact a member of SCHEV Council, please email Council@SCHEV.edu.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer